St. Thomas Atom A Jr. Stars Win Back to Back OMHA Championships., News, Atom A ('07), U10-U11 Travel, 2017-2018 (St. Thomas Minor Hockey)

Attention: You are viewing a team outside of the current season. Click here to view teams in the current season.
PrintNews Article
Click to view full-size image
St. Thomas Atom A Jr. Stars Win Back to Back OMHA Championships.
Submitted By Vicki Fenn on Tue 03 27, 18
The St. Thomas Atom A Jr. Stars won the Ontario Minor Hockey Association Atom A championship, successfully defending the title they won a year ago.  The team swept the Innisfil Winterhawks in the final, including a thrilling 5-4 win on Saturday to take the championship on the road.  The Stars tied it late in the game and then won it short-handed with 27 seconds left.  “These boys just don’t quit” said Head Coach Andrew Power.  “As the coach from Innisfil said, winning back to back championships is really hard to do.  I am so proud of this group.” 

The team’s championship journey took them 2,225 kilometers through Windsor, Essex, Grimsby, Burlington and Innisfil.  They compiled an impressive record of 15 wins and only 1 loss against some of the top teams in Ontario, outscoring the opposition 81 to 32 and leaving no doubt that they deserve to wear the coveted red hats again. 

This team now has one more goal left and that is to win the Ontario Hockey Federation championship in Etobicoke from April 13 to 15.  Go Stars Go! 
This article has been viewed 1503 times.
View Another Team
Social Networking
Follow Us On
Follow St. Thomas Minor Hockey on Twitter
- and -
Visit St. Thomas Minor Hockey on Facebook
- and -
Follow St. Thomas Minor Hockey on Instagram
Manage Subscriptions
Signup to receive email or text messages for the teams you want to follow.
News ArchiveOther Recent Articles
  • 05
    2017-2018 Atom A ('07)
    Thank you to all the players that attended the tryouts.  Your hard work and effort throughout was appreciated. For those players not selected we wish you all the best with the upcoming Atom AE tryouts in the fall.  The following players have been ...
Printed from on Wednesday, February 8, 2023 at 3:52 PM